S.O.A.R. DAN PRUSS RC SOARING TEAM AWARD

Section 1.01: Purpose

The Dan Pruss RC Soaring Team Award serves to honor the memory of S.O.A.R. member Dan Pruss by fostering the spirit of team competition at the A.M.A. Nats – a spirit that was and remains his enduring legacy in the national soaring contests he created and his guidance of our national teams in international soaring events.

Dan Pruss (1932-1986) was a life-long aero-modeler and a founding member of the Silent Order of Aeromodeling by Radio in 1967. Along with the other early S.O.A.R. members he helped create the "S.O.A.R. Nats" beginning in 1970 and served as the Contest Director for all seven of those events until RC soaring became part of the A.M.A. Nats in 1977. He served as Contest Director for the S.O.A.R. "Great Race" series of team cross-country contests from their inception in 1976 until his death. He was an A.M.A. delegate to the FAI's Aeromodelling Commission (C.I.A.M.) from 1973 until his death; he was chairman of the RC soaring subcommittee between 1974 and 1976, which created the original rules adopted under category F3B. Dan Pruss was the U.S. Team Manager at the very first RC Soaring World Championships in 1977.

Section 1.02: Competition by Teams

The Dan Pruss RC Soaring Team Award is a team event.

- A. Each team must declare its intent to compete for the Award by registering with the Soaring Director prior to the first official flight.
- B. Each team must consist of the same three members of the same A.M.A. chartered club for each of the events included in the Award. The pilots in each team must be identified at the time of registration. There will be no limitation on the number of three-person teams per A.M.A. chartered club.

Section 1.03: Scoring

The A.M.A. Nats Soaring Director is entrusted with identifying the team that wins the Dan Pruss RC Soaring Team Award at the A.M.A. Nats each year based on the following guidelines:

- A. Scoring shall be based on the official final placings of the individual team members in each of the events included in the Award that year. The winning team will be determined by the lowest combined aggregate score from each of those events.
- B. The best team has the lowest total score using the following scoring system: 1st place equals one point, 2nd place equals 2 points, etc.
- C. In the event of a tie between teams, the official flight point scores used in the calculation of places will be used to determine the winning team.

Section 1.05: Included Events

- A. As soaring classes at future Nats change, S.O.A.R. reserves the right to alter the scoring criteria to include/exclude event(s) or combinations of events.
- B. As of calendar year 2011 the events included in the Dan Pruss RC Soaring Team Award shall be: R.E.S. (Event #460), 2 Meter (Event #442), and Unlimited (Event #444).

Section 1.04: Awards

- A. Each of the three members of the winning team shall receive a distinctive trophy, and their names shall also be inscribed on a plaque to be kept on permanent display at A.M.A. headquarters.
- B. The trophies will be presented at the soaring banquet (if held) or immediately following the last included soaring event by a representative in the following order of priority:
 - 1. By a member of the Pruss family,
 - 2. By a designated member of S.O.A.R., or
 - 3. By the Soaring Event Director of the Nats.